Slow Cooker Parmesan Chicken

This recipe is from the Fix It and Forget It Lightly cook book, and is what I am making tonight for dinner.  The recipe says it makes 8 servings, however while shopping around today, I wasn’t able to find a package of chicken with four or eight chicken breasts, so I got a package with five monster breasts, chopped three in half, froze two, and so essentially I have six pieces of chicken in the slow cooker.  The prep time took about ten minutes, including cleaning up the chicken and chopping off the fat.   The recipe takes about four or four and a half hours to cook, and you should use a larger 4-5 quart slow cooker.

What you will need:

  • 8 Boneless Skinless Chicken breast (Like I said, I couldn’t find this, so I have three really really big chicken breasts cut in half)
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1 cup fat-free mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup grated fat-free parmesan cheese
  • 2 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp paprika

First, of course, clean up the chicken, cut off the fat, remove any blood vessels if they are in there (cos that’s just nasty).  Then cover and cook on high for two hours.  (This is where I am now!) Then mix the remaining ingredients and spread over the chicken, then cover and cook on high for two to two and a half more hours.

I like my crock pot because it will cook for the specified time, then keep the product warm.  So I can prepare this meal and have it done and then just keep it warm for a few hours while I am at work.  My theory is, make it on days I am off and my husband works, so that I can still get my errands done, play with the baby, etc and have an amazing meal waiting for him when he get’s home.  alternately, when he is working, I can get the first two hours done, and add the additional ingredients just before I leave for work on a closing day, have the crock pot cook and keep warm after the second two hours, so he can eat when he gets home, and I can eat when I get home.  Since when I close I often don’t get home until after 9pm!  I can make my husband dinner and don’t even have to be home.

Edit: Ok, so it is now 7:45pm, and dinner and dishes are done.  I didn’t take any pictures because, well, it didn’t look too pretty.  It did, however, taste amazing, and I am already looking forward to lunch tomorrow!  I was a little concerned because there is a lot of mayonnaise, but the majority of the ingredients added toward the end, stayed in the slow cooker, and went in the trash.  Someone else may choose to eat the sauce, but we are not big fans of mayo or miracle whip.  Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

