The Skinny on my Awful Diet

I will admit, my lifestyle has created the drastic waist size increase over the past eight years.  I am not going to lie, my love of Starbucks, Ice Cream, and the not so occasional Sausage McMuffin with Egg hasn’t helped my dress size, or my pocket-book.  Let’s do some math.

Three Starbucks a week at $4.00 = $12.00
One McMuffin Meal a week at $5.00 = $5.00
$12.00 + $5.00 = $17.00 x 52 = $884 x 8 years = $7,072 (Plus Tax!)
Now that’s a whole lotta new wardrobe!

Now, more grossly, lets add up the non-nutritional value’s.  (This is the part I am afraid of adding up!)

The McMuffin Meals (Each!)

  • 600 Calories x 52 = 31,200
    There is 1000 calories in a pound.
  • 1230 mg of Sodium x 52 = 63,960
    As one who retains water like there is no tomorrow, this is gross.
  • 37g of Fat x 52 = 1,924
    Again, there is 100 grams of fat in one pound.

The Starbucks (Venti White Mocha)

  • 580 Calories x 3 x 52 = 90,480
  • 330 mg of Sodium x 3 x 52 = 51,480
  • 22g of Fat x 3 x 52 = 3,432

Ok, now that I am looking at this, it’s no wonder I am not three times my size.  Just per week, we are talking 2,340 calories (over two pounds) and 103 grams of fat, another pound.  I am looking at over three pounds a week of unhealthy breakfast choices alone.  That’s not to mention the rest of my eating habits.

Now, for the skinny alternatives.  I have started making my coffee at home. You can buy Starbucks beans at home, I generally get the Cafe Verona, which is about 5 calories, which is a reduction in over 88,000 calories alone.  A hot breakfast I enjoy making at home is the Quaker Oats Weight Control Maple and Brown Sugar Instant Oatmeal.  With 160 calories, this is a great alternative to the McMuffin Meal.  Also, I enjoy a good old-fashioned bowl of Honey Nut Cheerios, which is 150 calories with skim milk.

Now that’s just breakfast.  I am also a glutton for a nightly bowl of Ice Cream.  I know that having a giant heaping bowl of ice cream every night before bed doesn’t do the dieting trick.  So I have recently started enjoying an every other night treat of a sugar-free popsicle, which is only 15 calories, vs. the 120 calories for a small mediocre half cup of my slow churned variety of ice cream.

If I keep making smarter choices, and of course, watching my portions, and keep up with the exercise, I am hoping to shed a few more inches and firm up a bit.  I don’t care about my weight as much, as I said before, I just want to be comfortable in my own skin.  By doing this quick tid bit of research and adding it all up, I am a little nauseous by the numbers.   I fully admit, I have put myself in this position, and it is up to me to keep myself motivated and get myself out of this position.  As I said in a previous post, I don’t want to be a highly overweight mother with diabetes and heart failure.  I want to be able to run around with my kids, and not get winded after a few minutes.

Let’s just say, this post has helped me, more than I wanted it to actually.  Now just wait until I show my partner in crime, my husband these crazy numbers.

Leave a Reply

